Staff and Instructors

Dr. Graig P. Arcuri, PH.D, Division Chief

Graig.Arcuri@cgauxnet.us

Dr. Graig Arcuri is the Division Chief of the Auxiliary University Programs with responsibility for managing the program nationwide.  He is a qualified vessel examiner and crew and currently serves as Commander of Flotilla 092-02-04, as well as, FSO-OP, FSO-MA, and FSO-DV. New to AUP, he comes with substantial operations and academic experience, which currently includes being a member of the faculty at The State University of New York at Oswego and Syracuse University.

LT Christopher Papas, OPERATIONS BRANCH CHIEF

Christopher.D.Papas@uscg.mil

LT Christopher Papas is the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary University Programs (AUP) Branch Chief - Operations where he has responsibility for maintaining accountability, responsibility, and authority for AUP operations nationwide; managing the portfolio of all AUP units, assigning each unit to subordinate Operations Assistants so that each is responsible for approximately 6-7 units. LT Papas is a graduate of the College of William and Mary, the Auxiliary University Programs, and the Coast Guard’s Officer Candidate School. He is a Prevention officer currently stationed as a Marine Inspector at Sector Miami. Prior to appointment as Branch Chief, he served as Unit Officer, Remote Collaborative Unit. 

LT Ashly Thomas, Program Management Branch chIEF

Ashly.L.Thomas@uscg.mil

LT Ashly Thomas oversees the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary University Programs’ Program Management branch. She is responsible for the successful matriculation and graduation of over 150 students within the program, as well as facilitating experiential learning experiences for members in the field. LT Thomas is currently stationed at USCG Sector New York.

Mr. jake shaw, AUP Senior Advisor

Jake.Shaw@cgauxnet.us

Jake Shaw serves as the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary University Programs (AUP) Senior Advisor, responsible for using his 10 plus years of AUP knowledge and experience to complete special projects and maintain overall program health. He supports the DVC and other branch chiefs. Mr. Shaw is a qualified Coxswain, Vessel Examiner, and Public Affairs Specialist.  He and his videographer documented the Coast Guard Auxiliary's service during the Deep Water Horizon's Spill of National Significance (SONS) in the Gulf of Mexico.  Mr. Shaw has been with the Auxiliary University Programs since its inception.  A Physical Therapist and Athletic Trainer, Mr. Shaw's professional background has included service with the Auburn University Athletic Department and as the Orthopedic Senior Physical Therapist for East Alabama Medical Center.  He sits on the Board of Advisors for the Warrior Athletic Training and Warrior Research Center at Auburn University, which serves the U.S. Army at Fort Benning, GA.  Mr. Shaw is also a Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) instructor, former SCUBA Dive Master, former Water Safety Instructor trainer, and former sailing instructor.

Management

Mr. Bill Iwanyk

Juniors Program Lead
Basil.Iwanyk@cgauxnet.us

ENS Jacob Marx

Seniors Program Manager
Background: Cutterman
Jacob.P.Marx@uscg.mil

Operations

LTJG Bradley Suciu

Operations Manager - Maritime/Military Units
Background: Marine Inspector
Bradley.C.Suciu@uscg.mil

ENS Jesse Thrift

Operations Manager - Civilian Units
Background: Cutterman
Jesse.W.Thrift@uscg.mil

Mr. Nathan Qian

Unit Stand-Up Manager
Background: IT, Data Analytics
Nathan.T.Qian@cgauxnet.us

Alumni Association

LTJG Christopher Weber

President
Background: Cutterman
Christopher.M.Weber@uscg.mil